Faith

The Foolish Virgin

IMG_4367.jpgYesterday the Provo City Center LDS Temple was dedicated.  There were three opportunities to hear the words of the temple’s leaders and leaders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints {9, 12, &3}.  Since {E} couldn’t go, John and I decided that I would go to the 9 AM session and he would go to the 12 PM session and then we could have the rest of the Sabbath to relax and worship together as a family.

I felt like I was making good time and was getting ready to leave when John offered a quick breakfast to me.  I of course accepted {eggs & chorizo? how could I say no??} and ended up eating, feeding {E}, and then finally got out the door.  I arrived at our church building, where the dedication services were being broadcast, at 8:57 AM.  I walked up to the door and pulled. It was locked.  LOCKED!  A wave of panic rushed over me as I peered through the glass doors to see that the chapel was closed and no one was in sight.  I walked to every outside door trying to get in.  Locked. Locked. Locked.  I finally realized, I was locked out.

The despair that came over me was surprising. I was saddened that I had spent too much time doing nothing that morning.  I was frustrated that they would lock people out.  But mostly, I was embarrassed before my Heavenly Father and my Savior.  The story of the ten virgins {the 5 wise & 5 foolish} found in Matthew popped into my head.  I was one of the foolish ones!  I was locked out. I had a small taste of what this parable taught:

“…the bridegroom came; and they that were ready went in with him to the marriage: and the door was shut.

Afterward came also the other virgins, saying, Lord, Lord, open to us.

But he answered and said, Verily I say unto you, I know you not.”

I know that I do not want this to happen to me when Jesus Christ comes again. I want and need to be ready to join with Him. I know I can do it and I know everyone who has faith and is willing to keep the commandments can do it too.

I ended up going to the 3 PM session and it was lovely.

Read Oil in Our Lamps by Elder Lynn G. Robbins

ten-virgins-parable-406267-gallery.jpg
Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

