Food · Fun

Spring Bunco Party

A few months ago I was asked by a neighbor if I wanted to join her Bunco group here in our little town. At first I was like, “Isn’t that like gambling??” Then after I talked to John about it, I decided to join with them mostly because I seriously needed to start making some friendships! Which I have!

Well, today was my turn to throw the get-together. Holy. Cow. It is HARD work planning a party all on your own. When I’ve planned parties in the past they’ve either been at a different venue than my own house OR I’ve had sisters helping me.

I spent all day cooking, cleaning, cooking, cleaning, and getting ready. All while taking care of my sweet {E}. I think I cried a little when John got home and he lovingly offered to help me. I was pleasantly surprised that I had everything ready to go 15 minutes before anyone got there! But instead of taking pictures {like I had planned to do} I sat down and relaxed for a minute. Β Not a terrible trade-off, but I was sad to not have visual proof of how clean my house was/how cute everything turned out. Oh well.

The night was a lot of fun and I even ended up winning something! It’s totally cute {of course I think so because I picked it out!}.

The one thing that everyone loved was the salad I made. I got the recipe from my Mom and she got it from Taste of Home. It’s a classic.

Crunchy Romaine Strawberry Salad

Ingredients

1 {3 oz.} Pkg. of Ramen Noodles

1 Cup Almonds, sliced

1/4 Cup Butter

1/4 Cup Sugar

1/4 Cup Canola Oil

2 Tbsp. Red Wine Vinegar

1/2 tsp. Soy Sauce

8 Cups Romaine Lettuce, torn

1/2 Cup Green Onions, chopped

2 Cups Fresh Strawberries, sliced

Instructions

Discard seasoning packet from Ramen Noodles. Break noodles into small pieces {I like a few bigger pieces too…like the size of a nickel}. In a large skillet, cook the noodles and almonds in butter over medium heat for about 10 minutes or until golden. Let mixture cool completely.

In a small bowl {I use a pint sized mason jar} mix the sugar, oil, vinegar, and soy sauce.

Just before serving, combine the romaine, onions, strawberries, and noodle mixture in a large bowl. Drizzle with dressing and toss gently.

Make 12 helpings.

{The only thing changed from the original recipe is the type of nut}

 

Leave a Reply

