Food

Glass Stovetop Cleaning

When we were building our house I was trying to save money anywhere I could. There are many things that I want to change {and many I would repeat} the next time we build a house…but that’s a discussion for another time.

One place I tried to save money was on our appliances. I wanted nice ones that worked well but I didn’t feel like we needed the top appliances. So when I was asked to choose between an electric or gas stovetop/oven combo, I went with electric because it was less expensive! Plus that is what my family and John’s family grew up with. Seemed like a no brainer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These can be very difficult to clean. Anytime something boils over a hard, black film is left over. Even if I try to clean it immediately, it is a PAIN to get off.

The other day I saw a link on Facebook of how to clean your glass cooktop. Usually when I see these I think, “That looks helpful. I should save that for later!” And then I thought, “Why later?? I’m going to do it today!”

So if your stovetop looks like mine did {aka a COMPLETE mess}, give this a try!

Everything I Used:

Paper Towels

Hot Soapy Water {in the sink or a bucket}

Baking Soda {Tidy Mom recommends a cup…I only had about 1/2 cup left}

Rags {3-4}

Glass Cooktop Cleaner & Scrubber

Cleaning Steps:

  1. Clean off all loose debris/grease with a wet paper towel.
  2. Make up your hot soapy water in the sink or a bucket {use about 2 Tbsp. of dish soap}
  3. Place rags in the water {make sure you have enough rags to cover stovetop}
  4. Sprinkle baking soda over the stovetop {because I didn’t have enough I focused on the parts that were worse than others}
  5. Wring rags out a little bit and place them over baking soda.
  6. Let sit for about 15-30 minutes.
  7. Remove rags and wipe up excess water.
  8. Dry with paper towels.
  9. Use glass cooktop cleaner and scrubber to loosen anything that remains.
  10. Buff the cooktop with a paper towel.

All done! Mine wasn’t perfect, but again I think it was because I didn’t have enough baking soda. I will try again in a week or so when it’s messy again!

 

 

Leave a Reply

