Faith · Family · Food · Fun

Mother’s Day Recap

John said to me yesterday, “Mother’s Day is kind of strange.” Before you start to get mad at him, here’s how he finished. “We try so hard to make ‘mom tasks’ easier for you on this day. Why don’t we do that all the time?”

I don’t know why we can so quickly relax our appreciation and service to these women we love so much!

Anyway! Yesterday was really happy. Even though {E} was unhappy because she’s been sicky and teething.

IMG_5073.jpg

I didn’t get to sleep in, but John did make me a delicious {sugar filled} breakfast!

IMG_5071.JPG

At church the Young Women sang a mother’s day song titled “My Mother’s Love” by Jean Barnes. I got to accompany them during Sacrament Meeting. They sang the touching lyrics beautifully.

My mother’s love has guided me from birth, a gift from heaven for my life on earth.

What would live be without the sweetness of that precious gift, my mother’s love.

When I am hurt, my mother feels my pain and give her heart to make me whole again.

And when I fail or when life seems unfair, I still can trust my mother’s care.

My mother’s love is warmth and tenderness, a love that tires, in ev’ry way to bless.

For all my days, she’s knelt and asked in prayer that just for me, God would be there.

When that day comes that we must be apart, more than before,

I’ll know with all my heart her precious love can never be replaced.

But I will feel again, her warm embrace. My mother’s love, my mother’s love.

During Young Women’s I handed out a little Personal Progress reminder! Thanks to my IHOP Night, I was able to quickly check my records and see that hardly any of the girls had completed a few experiences that asks you to discuss several spiritual topics with their mother. What a perfect Mother’s Day gift! {Plus it helps them in working on Personal Progress!} If you’d like to save and use it for Mother’s Day next year, download it here.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 5.07.43 PM

After church we came home and Skyped with my Mom and then we all got to take a nap!

John made Roasted asparagus and Mushroom Pasta in Lemon-Cream Sauce for dinner. Along with grilled chicken and broccoli. {E} didn’t eat anything but the broccoli. I love that  recipe from Our Best Bites.

We Skyped John’s Mom after dinner and then I got some gifts!

IMG_5070.jpg

IMG_5086.JPG
So excited for this! Can’t wait to repaint a few things!

Then we watched Once I was a Beehive on Netflix. I’ve been wanting to watch it for a while and after all, it was Mother’s Day!

John made us chocolate covered strawberry shakes for dessert. YUM! I want to make a real recipe for those. I was ready to fall into a sugar coma by the end of the day.

Around 9 PM I rocked my sweet {E} to sleep. I sat in our rocker a while longer than normal to think about motherhood. Especially my 15 months of being a mother to the angel in my care. I thought about how motherhood is exhausting, exciting, and everything in between.

I can’t thank my Heavenly Father enough for the gift of holding His children in my arms. I can’t wait to have more babies and watch that love and those blessings grow.

Leave a Reply

