Family · Food · Fun

Swiss Roll

My first recipe for The Great British Baking Show Challenge was the Swiss Roll.

IMG_5602

I was originally planning to copy one of the recipes from the episode {lemon curd with cream}, but during the hour drive to Walmart I started to conjure up my own flavor combinations! I settled on a Chocolate Peanut Butter Swiss Roll.

My plan was to make a chocolate sponge cake, peanut butter buttercream with chopped up peanuts, and homemade chocolate sauce. Sounds divine right??

It was divine. Divinely SWEET. There was too much sweetness. I kept thinking, “The peanut butter will make it salty.” Peanut butter is actually more sweet than salty…figured that out!

The BEST thing I learned was that you must roll the sponge cake right out of the oven. Parchment paper is best to use.

I can’t decide if there was too much filling. I want to say yes because my roll was kind of squatty. But it might be because it was too heavy {John said maybe I should have whipped some cream with it…probably a good idea}.

IMG_5591

Overall it was edible. I probably wouldn’t make it again. I especially wouldn’t use the chocolate sponge recipe I found…it was DRY DRY DRY! The peanut butter buttercream I would make again {recipe below}. I think it would be really tasty between layers on a moist chocolate cake.

So not a total failure. I would LOVE to make more Swiss Rolls and come up with some more successful flavor combinations.

IMG_5601

 

Peanut Butter Buttercream

Ingredients

  • 1 Stick of Butter, softened
  • 2 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 3-4 Tbsp. Milk
  • 2 Tbsp. Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1/4-1/2 Cup Peanuts, chopped

Instructions

Use an electric mixer to cream butter. Then add powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk. Mix until combined. If you would like your buttercream to be less firm, you can add more milk. Fold in the chopped peanuts. Spread or pipe onto your favorite cakes or cookies!

Leave a Reply

