Faith · Family · Fun

Father’s Day

This is a tribute post to my handsome and helpful husband and father to our sweet {E}. You’ve been warned.

Dear Johnny,

Two years ago, we had just found out we were going to have our first child. You changed that day. I was worried and denied that I was REALLY pregnant. You were excited and filled with joy. You wanted to shout it from the rooftops and I wanted to wait until we’d gone to the doctor.

This enthusiasm for your child {and future children} has only grown.

To watch you with our sweet daughter and think back on my memories of you with her brings tears to my eyes.

I have memories of you holding her tiny little body in the hospital’s nursery and telling her everything was going to be ok. I have memories of you and I sitting and staring at her…wondering if she was warm enough and if she’d ever wake up from her loooooong newborn naps. I have memories of you rocking and bouncing our babe to help her fall asleep. I have the vivid memory of you holding {E} in her beautiful white dress and giving her a name and a blessing.  I have memories of you doing everything you could think of to try and get her to smile and basking in glory when you finally succeeded.  I have memories of you getting frustrated when all {E} wanted was her Momma.  I have memories of you kissing us goodbye as you went off to work.  I have memories of you rolling around on the floor and helping {E} learn to crawl. I have memories of you gently saying, “Shhhh…Shhhh…Shhhh…” for hours on end to our sick sweetheart. I have memories of you making {E} dance to “I’m a Little Teapot”.  I have memories of you teaching {E} to say “Dada”.  I have memories of you telling {E} stories about Jesus.  I have memories of watching you teach our daughter things I never can.  I have memories of you LOVING her.

You are an honorable and exceptional father. I am so lucky to have you as my partner in parenthood. You know how to be firm and kind. Fun and responsible. Silly and spiritual. But above all you know how to love her in a way only YOU can. Thank you for taking your role as a father seriously and recognizing the power you have in our children’s lives.

I love you. Happy Father’s Day my honey.

Love, Natalie

Leave a Reply

