Faith · Family · Fun

{30 Things} Day 9

{30 Things} My Sweet Children Should Know About Me

Day 9 – List 10 people who have influenced you and describe how.

  1. My Mom.  She has taught me nearly everything I know.  So often I see her in my own actions/decisions and instead of the stereotypical response of “I’m my mother!!!”, I smile and am proud to be like her.  I don’t think you can adequately describe the influence of  a mother.  She continues to make me want to be a good person and find joy in simple things.
  2. Sister Toone.  She was on of my Young Women leaders when I was 16-18 years old.  A lot of the girls viewed her as a “grandma” but I felt like she was one of my best friends. She influenced me by helping me understand and confidently live the gospel of Jesus Christ.  She had a great sense of humor and was not afraid to share her testimony at any time or in any place.  She is a wonderful lady.
  3. Miss White-Butt.  She was my 5th grade teacher. {The story behind her name is that when I entered her class in August she was Miss White but she married in April and her new name was Mrs. Butt – unfortunate and hilarious}  I loved Miss White because when I think back on my memories of her and that year I NEVER remember her losing her patience {even though I’m sure she wanted to}. I greatly admired how much she knew and how she wanted each of her students to learn as much as possible.  She was my first teacher that influenced my decision to become a school teacher.  I loved her.
  4. Johnny.  My husband has influenced me in MANY ways. But the biggest way is that he has helped me to be less reserved. Before I met John I RARELY spoke up in social situations. I would quietly observe and make shy comments in response to questions.  He actually valued and wanted to know what I thought. And I got so used to speaking with confidence to him that it started to just become part of who I was.
  5. President Gordon B. Hinckley.  He was the Prophet of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints during my teenage/formative years. I truly loved him for how good he was and how much he truly cared about every single person on earth.  He influenced me to develop my testimony and make time for the gospel in my life.
  6. Brother Rambo.  He was one of my Seminary teachers. He influenced me to help me not take everything so seriously. I remember we were singing “Battle Hymn of the Republic” as our opening hymn one day and he was kind of singing the chorus…uniquely. I can’t describe it. We all thought it was funny! He just made everything happier…which is something I needed to learn at the time.
  7. Stephanie Nielsen.  She is a blogger who was in a tragic accident.  I follow her quite regularly and am always amazed at her perspective of life. She has it a lot harder {and easier in some ways} than me and still is able to remain positive. I try to emulate that positive thinking in my own life.
  8. Courtney Wright.  She and I worked together at my first job out of high school.  This was a “growing up” time for me. I’m glad I had her as a new friend to help me.  She taught me how to learn fast and work hard while still being friendly and not getting too stressed.  We worked together for 3 1/2 years but are still friends. Even though we are both married and have babies, she and I have a special bond.
  9. Dad Hardman.  When I started dating John I immediately took notice of how much his Dad would do every day. From mowing their HUGE yard to baking a wedding cake or from preparing a lesson for church to folding lots of laundry.  He stays BUSY. And not busy to be busy, but busy in serving everyone around him. He has influenced me to try and do the same.  To not look at my chores or daily tasks as mundane and maddening, but as a service to my family and ultimately my God.
  10. Jesus Christ.  Studying the life of my Savior and developing my own relationship with him has tremendously influenced me for the better.  Jesus Christ is the perfect example of love, service, faith, and joy.  Working to know Him helps me to practice these traits in my own life and hopefully help others to recognize Him as well.

 

{30 Things} Day 8

Leave a Reply

