Family · Food · Fun

Savory Cheddar Shortbread Biscuits

My second recipe for The Great British Baking Show Challenge was a type of biscuit.

As far as I can tell, Brits use the word “biscuit” for crackers AND cookies.  I decided I would try more of a cracker approach.  I made Savory Cheddar Shortbread Biscuits.IMG_6035.jpg

You know that song:

“Mama loves shortening, shortening, shortening

Mama loves shortening, shortening bread”

I’m that Mama.

The making of the dough was a bit perplexing. Once everything was mixed, it was all crumbly and looked a lot like scrambled egg.

IMG_5996.JPG

But once I poured it onto my floured surface and began to knead, all was well again.

IMG_5997.JPG

Next came the rolling out onto the cookie sheet {biscuit sheet?} and scoring the dough.

IMG_6002.jpg

Paul & Mary would give me TERRIBLE GRIEF for being so inconsistent in shape and size of my biscuits. But since they aren’t here…I let my anxiety over it go.

When they came out of the oven all golden brown and puffed up, I felt a sense of achievement. I’d made homemade crackers! How fun!

IMG_6008.jpg

They were delicious! A bit on the salty side {so I’ve reduced that in the recipe below}.They are quite crumbly which is not a problem for adults sitting at the table, but {E} made a BIG mess.  I’d like to try these {and other} savory biscuits again. Having homemade crackers in the house is fun and makes me feel extra domestic.

Savory Cheddar Shortbread Biscuits

Ingredients

2 Sticks of Butter, softened {plus a little extra for greasing the pan}

1 1/2 Cups Cheddar Cheese, finely shredded

2 Cups Flour {plus a little more for kneading}

3/4 tsp. Garlic Salt

1/4 tsp. Cayenne Pepper {less if you don’t appreciate heat}

Instructions

In a large bowl mix together the butter, cheese, flour, garlic salt, and cayenne pepper.

Pour ingredients onto a clean and floured surface.  Knead lightly to blend all ingredients together.

Spread {I used a rolling pin} dough onto a greased & lined cookie sheet {I greased  underneath and on top of my parchment paper}.

Score the dough into similar shaped squares or rectangles.  Prick each piece with a fork to make an X.

Bake at 375 degrees fahrenheit for 20 minutes or until they are golden brown.

Recipe adapted from this buttery source.

 

Leave a Reply

