Food · Fun

Ciabatta

My third recipe for The Great British Baking Show Challenge was Ciabatta bread.

I did this a few months ago and since then have made this recipe a couple of times. It is delicious and pretty simple!

IMG_6080.jpg

I got Paul Hollywood’s recipe here.

After watching the episode and reading the recipe, I decided I really needed a square tub for the dough to prove in.  My wonderful husband found me one that totally fit the bill!

IMG_6081.jpg

I wish I had taken a picture of when I initially put the dough in because I was in amazement at how much it rose! I did take a picture of me pointing to about where it had started…

IMG_6082.jpg

The funnest part was tipping it out and seeing all those beautiful bubbles!!

IMG_6085.jpg

I was pleasantly surprised at the lack of problems I had {I’m not a big bread maker}.  It was so yummy.  We had it that night as buns for burgers and it was TASTY! IMG_6090.jpg

IMG_6097.jpg

Ciabatta

Ingredients

500g (1 lb, 2oz) strong white bread flour, plus extra for dusting

440 ml (14 1/3 fl. oz.) cold water

10g (⅓ oz) salt

10g (⅓ oz) instant yeast

fine semolina, for dusting

Instructions

Put the flour, salt and yeast with 330ml (11 fl oz) cold water into a freestanding mixer fitted with a dough hook (don’t put the salt directly on top of the yeast). {Or if you don’t have a freestanding mixer like me, you can use a large glass bowl and your hand mixer with two dough hooks} Begin mixing on a slow speed.

As the dough starts to come together, with the motor running, slowly add another 110ml (3⅓ fl oz) of cold water, drip by drip. Mix for a further 5-8 minutes on a medium speed until the dough is smooth and stretchy.

Lightly oil a 3 litre (5 ¼ pint) square plastic container with a lid. (It’s important to use a square tub as it helps shape the dough).

Tip the dough into the oiled container and seal with the lid. Leave for 1½ to 1¾ hours at room temperature, or until at least doubled, even trebled in size (it’s important the dough proves slowly, otherwise it will collapse and your loaves will be flat).

Dust two large baking trays with flour and semolina. {Semolina may be my new favorite ingredient!!}

Dust your work surface heavily with flour and semolina and carefully tip out the dough (it will be very wet) – trying to retain a rough square shape.

Rather than knocking it back, handle it gently so you can keep as much air in the dough as possible. Coat the top of the dough with more flour and/or semolina.

Cut the dough lengthways, dividing into four equally-sized loaves. {I lightly oiled a large knife to help in this step!} Stretch each piece of dough lengthways a little and place on the prepared baking trays. Leave the ciabatta to rest for a further 30-45 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 220C/425F/Gas 8 (200C fan) and bake for 25 minutes, or until the loaves are golden-brown and sound hollow when tapped on the base. Leave to cool completely on a wire rack before serving.

That hollow sound is one of the sweetest things I’ve ever heard.  Keep two loaves for you and give away the others.

Leave a Reply

