Family · Food · Fun

The County Fair

I remember going to the County Fair growing up  and my memories were this:  funnel cake, demolition derby, and activities/games for kids.  I also remember there being A LOT of people in a large space with lots of animals, performances, & booths.

IMG_2250.JPG

Going to the County Fair in a smaller community is quite different but still a lot of fun!  Most people still go to the Demolition Derby, but we had a BAD experience last year {meaning {E} screamed the entire time}.  So we went earlier in the day when it was FREE and fewer people.  We got to watch local youth show sheep & steers they’ve raised.  This was a first for me and it was cool and a little strange.  Knowing that they were trying to win so that they could get a better price to kill their animal for food made me s-a-d. I’m not a vegetarian, but if I were in their place I would probably think of those animals as a pet, how could I have it butchered??  That’s why I’m not a farm girl.

IMG_2254.jpg

IMG_2251.JPG

{E} liked petting the sheep that belonged to our Bishop’s family.  We also had some yummy fair food and got a free balloon poodle for {E}. Then we played on the playground and checked out all of the food/craft/4-H entries.  {E} was a little too small for the activities they provided for the kids…hopefully we’ll be able to do some next year!  I’m hoping to enter something into the fair next year too.  I haven’t decided what yet, but I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

IMG_2286.JPG

IMG_2288.JPG

IMG_2289.JPG

IMG_2294.jpg

IMG_2296.JPG

IMG_2298.JPG

IMG_2315.JPG

IMG_2313.JPG

 

IMG_2302.jpg

IMG_2306.JPG

IMG_2322.JPG

Leave a Reply

