Family · Food · Fun

Meat Pie

My fifth recipe for The Great British Baking Show Challenge was to make a meat pie.  I made a hot water crust pastry filled with pork and sweet potatoes.  On the TV show, their pies were made using tall tins {which I didn’t have} and lots of different meats {that I’ve never tried}.  So my interpretation was VERY different.  More like a pot pie.  And I’m afraid I would classify this as the first “fail” of this challenge.  It’s not that it didn’t taste good, but I don’t think it was ANYTHING like what the real contestants made.

My first mistake was getting a hot water crust pastry recipe that told me to CHILL the dough for 1 hour.  At the time I didn’t think much of this…but during that hour I thought, “Shouldn’t hot water crust pastry be hot??”  Yeah.  It should.  I think that was the biggest mistake I made.  I’m not even going to give you the recipe I found.

IMG_2546.JPG

 

We cooked a pork roast in the slow cooker for three hours and it came out beautifully!  However it wouldn’t shred, so we chunked it instead.

IMG_2542.JPG

 

The one fun thing I did was making a pastry flower.  It turned out better than I thought {given that I was so mad and frustrated at my silly mistake of trusting a CHILLED hot water crust recipe!}.  {E} ate the flower and leaves for dinner and a little of the sweet potato filling.

This made A LOT!  I made it on Sunday and we still have leftovers even though we have had it for lunch every day since.  These are definitely a filling meal.  I would like to try another recipe and see if it works out any better.

IMG_2550.JPGThe BEST part of this experience was {E} kept calling the pastry, “Cook!  Cook!” Which means “cookie”. haha!

Leave a Reply

