Faith

Differing Points of View

As time moves forward, I see old friends change {mostly via social media}.  Girls and boys I knew from my childhood through adolescence that I thought I was really close to, seem like total strangers now.

As we’ve aged and become more acquainted with the ways of the world, released from the protection of our parents, our points of view aren’t so similar anymore.

This is not a bad thing.  It would be terrible if everyone thought the same way or had all the same pursuits.  It would be wrong for people to not make their own choices and become a carbon copy of their parents.  I appreciate things I learn from others and the way they see the world.  And I hope that they, in turn, appreciate my views.

However, when something that is sacred to me {and I thought used to be sacred to them} is repeatedly bashed and ridiculed from their fingertips, I feel incredibly sad.  I see many of them post articles, write comments, or update their status to let everyone know that they do not believe in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints anymore.

Like many of these friends, I have had times of doubt in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  I have had questions about its policies/doctrine/establishment.  I have had the thought, “Maybe it’s not true.”

But I don’t lean into these doubts.  I don’t romanticize the idea of being tricked.  I don’t entertain cruel and harassing thoughts about church leaders.  I don’t leave my questions unanswered, festering to the point they become belief.  I don’t do this, because I have faith in Jesus Christ and the Plan of Salvation.  And that faith is strong enough to cast away my worries.  I truly find peace in my Savior.  As I exercise my faith, I find joy and love.  I feel uplifted and comforted.  I discover again and again that I am a Daughter of God.

I wish I could talk to these old friends and find out what pushed them from doubting to downright rebellion or leaving their faith.  I wish we were still close enough that I could just better understand the “why” behind all of the hateful comments or anti-Mormon articles they share.  I feel like if this could happen I would be less sad.  But maybe it would make it worse.

I know Jesus Christ is the Savior of the world.  I know that His church was restored through a modern day prophet, Joseph Smith.  I know that His church is lead today by the prophet Thomas S. Monson.  I know the scriptures are true and filled with the commandments and ordinances we need to follow to have eternal life.  I know that Heavenly Father loves me and each one of His children.  I know these truths because I study, ask, counsel, pray, and trust.  You {and my sweet friends} can know these truths too.

Read “Why the Church”.

 

Leave a Reply

