Faith · Family · Food · Fun

Girls’ Weekend

A few weeks ago I was feeling a bit overwhelmed with all of the laundry, sticky finger prints on EVERY door, and making dinner {every single night}.  I needed a girl’s weekend in the worst way.  I called my sweet Mom and asked if {E} and I could come stay with them for a few nights without my honey {sorry Johnny, no boys allowed}.  She said yes of course and I started to get my sisters & sisters-in-law on board!

After coming up with a probably a MILLION ideas of things we could do, I came up with a few options {but secretly I just wanted to hang out and TALK}.

The first thing we did was exchange recipes.  I know my Mom was getting tired of getting this text every other month: “Can I get your rice pilaf recipe again?  I’ve misplaced it…again.”  They were all excited to get this recipe from me {really from Paul Hollywood}. {E} got to play with cousins while my hand cramped up from writing down ingredients for Coconut Custard and a homemade Pesto.  I got to talk with the wonderful women in my family and fill my bucket.  I realized at the end of the night that meal planning for October was going to be a CINCH because I had all these new recipes to try.  Yay!

IMG_2677.JPG

The second thing we did was kickoff the #hardmanhalloweencountdown by going to Gardner Village for Witchfest. {Slight change in original plans}  It was so much fun and also quite tiring.  We got to see witches, get glittery face paint {my {E} wouldn’t do it}, SHOP, eat chocolatey treats, and watch these cute cousins dance.  We went to dinner afterwards and around 7:45 a sea of men/boys in white shirts were storming our Applebees!  My sweet niece kept saying, “Look at all the white shirts! What is going on?!” {They were all coming from the Priesthood session of General Conference}

IMG_2653.jpg

IMG_2651.jpg

IMG_6856.JPG

The last thing we did was hang out at Grandma’s house.  We crafted, listened to Conference, had a tea party {Grandma’s specialty of chocolate milk+cream}, played with Play Dough, jumped on the trampoline, built train tracks with cousins, and finished with making Halloween Cookies.  It was a complete joy to watch {E} stand up at the counter with my Mom, both of them holding her light blue hand mixer, while oohing and aahing over the creamy cookie dough.

IMG_6857.jpg

IMG_6859.jpg

IMG_2672.jpg

IMG_6891.jpg

Memories like these give endurance and eternal perspective as I headed home to more laundry, more meal preparing, and more every day life.

 

Leave a Reply

